Skip to main content
The 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

pre 1820 Settler Correspondence before emigration

ALL the 1819 correspondence from CO48/41 through CO48/46 has been transcribed whether or not the writers emigrated to the Cape. Those written by people who did become settlers, as listed in "The Settler Handbook" by M.D. Nash (Chameleon Press 1987), are labelled 1820 Settler and the names of actual settlers in the text appear in red.

EAMES, William

National Archives, Kew CO48/43, 41

Pittimoor near Sheffield

August 5th, 1819

May it please your Lordship,

Having been informed that Government proposes to encourage emigration to the Cape of Good Hope, I take this opportunity of offering and petitioning your Lordship to accept of myself and family which consists of the following persons viz

myself - William EAMES - 47 years

my wife - Sarah EAMES - 40 years

a son - Joseph - 22 years

do - William - 20 years

do - John - 14 years

do - Edward -12 years

do - Thomas - 6 years

a daughter - Ann -19 years

do - Elizabeth -18 years

do - Mary - 16 1/2 years

do - Eliza - 8 years

My present occupation is that of a brick maker but have been used to the making or cutting of canals, new roads, all kinds of farming and husbandry work. In such employment my children have been engaged under my directions.

I have it in my power to find the sum of Fifteen Pounds, and whatever more may be required and agreed upon am willing to liquidate it when fixed in the settlement by the [date] which may be appointed. I am at liberty to remove at any time your Lordship may appoint soon as the agreement and terms are settled upon.

If your Lordship will not think me too presuming I humbly request the favour of an early reply waiting which I remain with due respect

your Lordship's most obedient and very humble servant.

William EAMES

Brick maker

NB Pittimoor is a small village one mile from Sheffield on the road to Leeds.

  • Hits: 6608