Skip to main content
The 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

pre 1820 Settler Correspondence before emigration

ALL the 1819 correspondence from CO48/41 through CO48/46 has been transcribed whether or not the writers emigrated to the Cape. Those written by people who did become settlers, as listed in "The Settler Handbook" by M.D. Nash (Chameleon Press 1987), are labelled 1820 Settler and the names of actual settlers in the text appear in red.

INCE, Frederick

National Archives, Kew CO48/44, 154

28 Milk Street


26th Dec 1819

My Lord,

I take the liberty to address your Lordship, having a great desire with my family to become settlers at the Cape of Good Hope. I mean that part of the country intended for the new colony. A near relation, Mr. Thomas WILSON, by marriage with my own sister, has embarked from London for the new undertaking in some official capacity. I should have no objection should it meet your Lordship's approbation to accept of a similar charge whenever any other settlers may be sent thither either from this Port or any other. I could much wish to know how soon such an event may probably take place, also the terms and responsibility attached to whatever situation your Lordship may think me capable of undertaking for the benefit of any part of the new colony.

I have a wife & six children, the eldest son 23 years married & got two children male & female, my eldest daughter 21 years spinster, second son nineteen batchelor, second daughter 13 years, third son 10 years, fourth son eight months, all of whom I could wish to take with me. I am a mechanic & have a general knowledge of all kind of machinery, for further particulars I should be most happy to be at your Lordship's command and am with due respect

Your Lordship's most obed't humble sev't

Fred'k INCE

  • Hits: 6011