Skip to main content
The 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

pre 1820 Settler Correspondence before emigration

ALL the 1819 correspondence from CO48/41 through CO48/46 has been transcribed whether or not the writers emigrated to the Cape. Those written by people who did become settlers, as listed in "The Settler Handbook" by M.D. Nash (Chameleon Press 1987), are labelled 1820 Settler and the names of actual settlers in the text appear in red.

LEE, William (3)

National Archives, Kew CO48/44, 345


Aug't 18th 1819


I hope your goodness will pardon the liberty I have taken in troubling you with the following subject which nothing but a disappointment in loosing the correspondence of my late Major A CALLUM of the 41 Regiment of Foot should have induc'd me to do it.

I therefore beg leave to inform your Lordship that on the 17th Nov. 1818 I obtained my discharge at the end of seven years servitude but finding employment very scarce I applied to my late Major signifying my wish to become a settler in some of his Majestys colonies. The Majors answer under date the 17 Jan'y last inform'd me that he had received printed instructions from your Lordship but that he would see your Lordship again on the subject and acquaint me with the result but as I have not since heard from the Major I have taken the liberty of addressing your Lordship hoping that such direction may be given so as to secure me a passage with the priviledges of a private soldier.

I also beg leave to state to your Lordship that a friend of mine Edward ETHERLEY, Wheelwright with a wife and two boys wishes to become settlers with me if such an indulgence be granted.

I am your Lordships most obed't

William LEE

My address

William LEE at Edw ETHERLEYS

Cat Street, Burton on Trent

[Transcriber's Note:There is a 41st Regiment of Foot record of a private William LEE of ‘Brenton' on Trent, ‘Stafford', applying to become a settler in Canada]




National Archives, Kew CO48/44, 410

Burton on trent

5th october 1819

Honerble Sir,

I have to acquaint you in reply to your printed letter of the 20th aug. Wm LEA descarged from 41 Regiment of foot and is freind Edward ATHERLEY and is wife and two sons all able to work we have made up our own mind to except the ofer and wish to go as soon as poseble to the cape of good hope and we are desirous to know wether we are allowed to take our bedding and wheel wrights tools for our own use for that is our calling we are expecting the time nigh of some going and we wish to go as soon as any we address your Lordship for the time when going and where to come to take shiping I hope you will have the goodness to answer it as soon as you can we are your humble servents. Please do direct for William LEA at Edward ETHERLEY'S Wheelwright cat street Burton on trent Staffordshire 1819

  • Hits: 6852