Skip to main content
The 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

pre 1820 Settler Correspondence before emigration

ALL the 1819 correspondence from CO48/41 through CO48/46 has been transcribed whether or not the writers emigrated to the Cape. Those written by people who did become settlers, as listed in "The Settler Handbook" by M.D. Nash (Chameleon Press 1987), are labelled 1820 Settler and the names of actual settlers in the text appear in red.


National Archives, Kew CO48/44

8 Chamber Street

White Chapel

15 July 1819


I beg leave to state that tru sum information I receved respecting sending out imegrants to the Cape of Good hope that should any incouragement be given to that effect I would have not the least objecion in imadiately going. I have been many years in His Majestys service both in India & the Cape and is now an out pensioner at one shilling per day have a wife & 2 children and only 31 years of age 14 years in the Army and out of that 11 years Serjeant

I remain Sir

Yours &c


Late Serjeant in the First Royal Scots




National Archives, Kew CO48/44, 531

8 Chambers Street

White Chapel

28th July 1819


I beg leave to know on what terms the are placed thos imegrants from this country to the Cape of Good [sic] after thir landing, or if the government will precure tools & imblements for agriculter, which no dubt many will be defischent of when placed on thir respective estates, and likeways in what manner the are to be vitled & supported till their new crop cumes forward. The riter is a young man who has been in that cuntry and been many years a noncommitioned officer in his Majestys service, and has a pension of 1s/0 per day. I would be glad to know if he might receave it there & has a wife and 2 childer male & female all healthy and not afread of work and can make up the complement of persons to the amount of 10 agreeable to the circuler statement. The age of the riter is only 31 years that of his wife nearly the same that of his son 7 years his daughter 5 years and these whom he will intend to take out with him there is none of them that exceeds 32 years all healthy and fit for labour.

I have the honor to be Sir

Your most obd't humble serv't


Late a serjeant first ft Royal Scots

PS I would be glad if you would favour me with an answer as soon as possible that I would be enabled to arrange the beter with those whom I take with me





National Archives, Kew CO48/44, 727

8 Chambers Street

White Chapel

Oct 4th 1819


The party in which I was in expectation to proceed the Cape of Good Hope being rejected I am by the consent of that party to make this application in the place of Mr. NANCOLLAS to proceed to that colony. I further wish to observe that I served my King and Country for many years and was at the taken of the above place in 1806. With above party can take out upwards of 1500 pounds. If it should be wanting we can produce people of the most respectable as to character.

I remain your most obed't serv't


Late sjt in 1 foot R. Scots

  • Hits: 6556