Skip to main content
The 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

pre 1820 Settler Correspondence before emigration

ALL the 1819 correspondence from CO48/41 through CO48/46 has been transcribed whether or not the writers emigrated to the Cape. Those written by people who did become settlers, as listed in "The Settler Handbook" by M.D. Nash (Chameleon Press 1987), are labelled 1820 Settler and the names of actual settlers in the text appear in red.

NEAL, Daniel et al

National Archives, Kew CO48/44, 830

[All four in the same handwriting, probably dictated]


July 28th 1819


Daniel NEAL having a wife and one child i am 30 years of age my wife 21 and my child 2. I was bred to the weaving but worked at labouring work both in Ireland and England those years past and am well used to any kind of work. I would wish to go as a setler with any Gentleman. I am a coal whipper but work runs very bad there is as many men always idle as at work

Jeremiah McCARTHY having a wife and seven children I am 44 years of age my wife 38 a son 21 another 18 and five daughters under fourteen. I was brought up to the farming buisiness but works now at coal whiping. I would wish to go to the Cape as a setler as a great number of my friends have already made application.

Felix McCARTHY a single man and brother to the above Jeremiah I am 33 years of age and a carpenter by trade at which buisiness I now work. I would wish to go with my brother if our buisiness would suit any Gentleman.

I Michael HURLEY have a wife and two children I am 32 years of age my wife about the same age a daughter 12 and a son 7 years of age. I was brought up to the farming buisiness but works now at coal whipping. I would wish to go as a setler. The McCARTHYs are friends of mine.

Any Gentleman whom our buisiness will suit will be pleased to direct to Wm. CONNELY, No.4 {obscured] Street, Old Gravel Lane, St.Georges in the East for Dan'l NEAL


  • Hits: 6660