Skip to main content
The 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

pre 1820 Settler Correspondence before emigration

ALL the 1819 correspondence from CO48/41 through CO48/46 has been transcribed whether or not the writers emigrated to the Cape. Those written by people who did become settlers, as listed in "The Settler Handbook" by M.D. Nash (Chameleon Press 1987), are labelled 1820 Settler and the names of actual settlers in the text appear in red.

STORY, Christopher

National Archives, Kew CO48/45, 840

10 Parliament Street

Dog Row, Mile End

Augst. 11, 1819


Agreeable to Government circular it was agreed by and between nine individuals who are as well as myself anxious to settle at the Cape of Good Hope that I should ascertain the precise terms Government intend entering into with those who will emigrate to that colony, and also to know when I am to wait on you to make the necessary deposits and enter into the other arrangements necessary for the occasion which I will be ready to comply with as soon as you will please to signify your assent.

I am Sir with great respect

Your obedt. humble servant

Christopher STORY




National Archives, Kew CO48/45, 850

10 Parliament Street, Mile End

15 August 1819


I have the honor to acknowledge the receipt of your letter of the 11th inst. wherein you stated it was necessary I should transmit to you a description of the persons & families I intend to take out to the Cape of Good Hope, the following will be found to be a correct list,

Christ. STORY, 40, a wife, 4 males, 2 females, husbandman

James JOHNSON, 28, do, 2 males, shoemaker

James SLATER, 31, do, 2 males, husbandman

Thos. BROWN, 36, do, husbandman

Wm. ROBINSON, 36, widower, 1 male, carpenter

John HISKETT, 32, a wife, 2 males, 1 female, husbandman

George BEST, 31, do, 1 male, 2 females, labourer

John CAMPLIN, 37, do, 2 males, labourer

Thos. FOSKETT, 21, single man, labourer

John ARGENT, 38, a wife, 1 male, carpenter

The children are all under 14 except 2


The above persons on examination will be found to answer the description in conformity to Government circular, as men fit for agricultural purposes, if it be necessary you should wish to have my character I will refer you to Sir James GRANTHAM, member for Carlisle. I am well acquainted with the practical part of agricultural proceedings, I was many years a farmer in the County of Cumberland,

I am Sir your most humble servant

Christopher STORY

  • Hits: 5545