Skip to main content
The 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

pre 1820 Settler Correspondence before emigration

ALL the 1819 correspondence from CO48/41 through CO48/46 has been transcribed whether or not the writers emigrated to the Cape. Those written by people who did become settlers, as listed in "The Settler Handbook" by M.D. Nash (Chameleon Press 1987), are labelled 1820 Settler and the names of actual settlers in the text appear in red.


National Archives, Kew CO48/46, 558

Chalford, Westbury Leigh


October 23 1819, Saturday morning

May it please the noble Earl to hear the petition of John WARATT if your pleasure will be so civil and condescending as to grant him one favour & generous request and that is to grant him your most generous permission as a nobleman and that is for him and his wife and 2 children to request your noble permission to be granted a passage to the Cape of Good Hope. My age id 41 years and my eldest girl was 8 years of age the 9th day of May last past and my other child is a boy about 8 months old. Your most noble Earl I have been at the Cape 12 years in the 89th Regt and my wish is to go again by your most noble permission, and I was in the 88th Regt 3 years and 3/12m which total service is 15 and 3/12 years and I has got allowed [obscured] d per day and I wish to be informed if not to[o] troublesome if I could receive my pension there or else receive such a sum of money here at once as I have heard so [obscured] your noble and kind information by return of post to me stating the particulars in your letter. As the parish of Westbury has rejected me on account of being a pensioner and of my being 41 years of age and I should thank your noble worthyness to return me an anser by post stating to me all particulars relating thereto & I am Yr Noble

Most obed't humble servant


  • Hits: 6513