Skip to main content
The 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

pre 1820 Settler Correspondence before emigration

ALL the 1819 correspondence from CO48/41 through CO48/46 has been transcribed whether or not the writers emigrated to the Cape. Those written by people who did become settlers, as listed in "The Settler Handbook" by M.D. Nash (Chameleon Press 1987), are labelled 1820 Settler and the names of actual settlers in the text appear in red.

WATKINS, George and John

National Archives, Kew CO48/46, 244

Shepherds Bush

Near Hammersmith

22 July 1819


I call'd in Downing Street this morning and was informed that by addressing you I could hear the plan in which English families were to proceed to the Cape of Good Hope. My trade a butcher aged 27 and family consists of wife age 23 and child under two years a boy.

I am Sir your humble servant


PS I have a brother who wishes the same intelligence two years old [sic] with the same family and trade butcher and farmer





National Archives, Kew CO48/46, 277

Shepherds Bush

28 July 1819


I received your letter stating the particulars of emigration to the Cape of Good Hope. Wishing to know the particulars would like if convenient to know if we [two?] brothers can go being two settler persons for the country. George he being a butcher and John the elder always in the farming line and cultivation of land & Butchering also Breeding Stock with which to refferance you may have very good one. My father lives at Hammersmith respectable butcher and farmer

From your most obed't humb;e serv't


PS We are both married John 28 years of age one child George 27 years one child

  • Hits: 7058