Skip to main content
The 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

pre 1820 Settler Correspondence before emigration

ALL the 1819 correspondence from CO48/41 through CO48/46 has been transcribed whether or not the writers emigrated to the Cape. Those written by people who did become settlers, as listed in "The Settler Handbook" by M.D. Nash (Chameleon Press 1987), are labelled 1820 Settler and the names of actual settlers in the text appear in red.

WHITE, Charles

National Archives, Kew CO48/46, 302

14 Nelson Place

Nelson Terrace

City Road Islington


August 3, 1819

I, Charles WHITE, aged 27 years with Wife & two Children, by Trade a Carpenter & Joiner, should be glad to go to the Cape of Good Hope Having apply'd at the Office was informed that by applying to you by Letter should have an answer to such Questions as I wish to ask therefore should be glad to Know upon what plan we are to be sent there whether our Passage and Provision will be provided and such tools & Empliments as is nessesary for Cultivation at the Expence of Government and whether we are to travell up the Country at our own Expence and if seed and other nessaries will be found us, and if we are allowed to take any tools or Luggage and when the Money is to be paid into the Office and what Time we are to leave England and what Security we are to have for the Land at our arrival at the Cape. These are the few Questions which I have to ask the Favour of, and any other information which Your Honour will please to grant and Your Honour will greatly oblige

Your humble & obedient servant

Charles WHITE

  • Hits: 5329