GSSAThe 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

1820 Settler Correspondence before emigration

ALL the 1819 correspondence from CO48/41 through CO48/46 has been transcribed whether or not the writers emigrated to the Cape. Those written by people who did become settlers, as listed in "The Settler Handbook" by M.D. Nash (Chameleon Press 1987), are labelled 1820 Settler and the names of actual settlers in the text appear in red.

BROWN, Michael

National Archives, Kew CO48/41, 478

9th Sept 1819


I beg leave to enclose a letter from the Secretary of the Admiralty in answer to one which I wrote requesting permission to emigrate to the Cape of Good Hope and he has refered me to you. I therefore request that you will be pleased to move the head of the Colonial Department to grant me leave to emigrate to the Cape of Good Hope and at the same time be pleased to send me the necessary instructions.

I remain Sir your humble and most obed't servant

Michael BROWN

Direct M. BROWN Assistant Surgeon RN

Mr. LEVY, Navy Agent

Mount Place, Whitechapel

[date and reference cut off]


Having received your circular which points out to me the way the establishment ???? I beg leave to transmit for your information the undermentioned names.

I have the honour to be Sir your most obed't and humble servant


Mich'l BROWN aged 45 assistant surgeon RN

Cathrine BROWN (wife) 33

Jno. BROWN (brother) 35 labourer

Jno. JOSEPH 31 labourer

Elizabeth JOSEPH (wife) 26

David JOSEPH (son) 8

Thos. HENSON 43 carpenter

Mary Ann HENSON (wife) 41

Elizabeth HENSON (daughter) 21

Goodman LEWISS 37 blacksmith

Rebecca LEWISS (wife) 36

Hanna LEWISS (daughter) 11

Cathrin LEWISS (daughter) 5

Lewis LEWISS (son) 8

Simon LEWISS (son) 2½

Wm. KINGSTON 28 carpenter

Martha KINGSTON (wife) 22

Julian PAYNE 24 agriculture

Mary PAYNE (wife) 20

Wm. MAN 29 labourer

Ann MAN (wife) 26

Ann MAN (daughter) 4

Jno. MAN (son) 2

Sam'l KINGSTON 34 carpenter

Ann KINGSTON (wife) 40

Rob't WARD 26 miller

Thos. PAYNATHAW 27 miller

James MARTIN 25 carpenter

[name obscured] 24 labourer

?? HART 21 shoemaker

Direct M.BROWN

4 Adams Place






National Archives, Kew CO48/41, 581

4 Adams Place, Boro

4 October 1819


Having sent you the regular list of the familys which I intended to emigrate along with me and not having received an answare I should be glad if you would favor me with one as sune as possible, and by so duing you will oblige your humble and obed't servant


PS Sir if I have omitted anything that is not regular it's for want of information if money is the object that I have sufficient

Print Email