The 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay


National Archives, Kew CO48/44, 4

No.11 Cundale Place


July 16 1819


I did myself the honor of calling at your office this morning in consequence of a wish of myself & friends. I have been very unfortunate in Business and should be happy to imbrace the opportunity of proceeding to the Cape as I am acquainted with agricultural pursuits. Should like to go under a person of some property as I am destitute of any of my own. My age is 34 years and I have hitherto enjoyed an excellent state of health & I am unmarried. If you should be so good & kind as to give attention to this you will oblige

Your most humble servant


NB If required I can produce testimonials as to abilities




National Archives, Kew CO48/44, 127

Globe Tavern

Borough of Southwark

October 11th 1819


In July last I addressed a letter to you stating my wish of becoming one of the individuals for going to the Cape and I received an official paper in return, since which I have not had any further communication on the subject. I stated in my former letter my wishes of being engaged by a party going, as I am well acquainted with agricultural pursuits, am 34 years of age and unmarried, consequently have no incumbrance. As the time is fast approaching for the departure of the transports I thought it perhaps needful for me to take the liberty of troubling you with these few lines.

I remain Sir your most obedient servant


  • Hits: 5377