Skip to main content
The 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

pre 1820 Settler Correspondence before emigration

ALL the 1819 correspondence from CO48/41 through CO48/46 has been transcribed whether or not the writers emigrated to the Cape. Those written by people who did become settlers, as listed in "The Settler Handbook" by M.D. Nash (Chameleon Press 1987), are labelled 1820 Settler and the names of actual settlers in the text appear in red.

HARE, Charles

National Archives, Kew CO48/43, 840

Falkingham, Lincolnshire

7th October 1819

My Lord

I am a single man, in a good state of health, of about 29 years of age, and I have lately been admitted an attorney of all the courts at Westminster Hall, and am very desirous of settling in the Colony, at the Cape of Good Hope, appropriated for the emigrants.

I will, if the deposit money be not too large, advance the sum required, by Government, for a grant of land to be made to me, with liberty to follow my profession, if your Lordship will be pleased to direct information to be given me of the amount, and to whom it is to be paid, and when and where I can embark? I will conform myself to the conditions prescribed by Government, upon the settlers. I do not know of any person in this neighbourhood willing to accompany me. I will thank your Lordship to order the communication to be made to me, and to be left till called for, at the Post Office Falkingham. Waiting the honor of the communication through your Lordship's means.

I remain my Lord

Your Lordship's most obed't & very hble servant

Charles HARE

[transcriber's note: Falkingham is today spelled Folkingham]




National Archives, Kew CO48/43, 871

Falkingham, Lincolnshire

15th October 1819

My Lord

I took the liberty of addressing your Lordship on the 7th instant, for permission to join the emigrants about to set sail to the Colony at the Cape of Good Hope, and I should feel particularly obliged, if your Lordship would condescend, to direct a communication to be sent to me in answer to my application. The sum required, I will raise and deposit in the way directed, and I will conform myself to the regulations prescribed by Government, upon the settlers. If my proposition of accompanying the settlers to the Colony be rejected, I intend proceeding to America, which would be attended with circumstances less likely to be productive of advantage to me. Waiting the honor of your Lordship's directions in answer to my request, addressed to me, at the Post Office, Falkingham, Lincolnshire.

I have the honour to remain my Lord

Your Lordship's most obedient & very humble servant

Charles HARE


  • Hits: 6067